lessonsb4dying

LaGuardia’s “Lesson” Forum

Not There / There

“I was not there, yet I was there” (3).

The opening line of the novel begins with a logical contradiction: if the narrator is not there, how can s/he be there. This is the kind of thing that confuses me and makes me want to get to the bottom of the story. In a way, it is like a newly created mystery. (And how does the narrator know “all the time what the verdict would be[?]” (3). Is he supernatural or cynical?)

But I am reading this voluntarily. This blog is about what you, the LaGuardia students and faculty who have this new book, think about it.

Are you reading it in a class, or are you reading it because it was given to you free?

Please leave a comment below letting us know how you like (or dislike) this book.

August 21, 2008 Posted by | narration, reading | , , , | 3 Comments